Board of Trustees and Administrative Board

The Board of Trustees' remit covers budgetary planning and all fundamental issues or those that are deemed to have special significance. The Board of Trustees is chaired by the member of the Berlin Senate responsible for cultural affairs. Other members include a representative from the Senate Office of Justice, a representative of the Federal Government member responsible for cultural affairs, the Advisory Board chair and one further Advisory Board member.

The Board of Trustees appoints the Administrative Board, which includes the Executive Director of the Memorial. Since December 2000, the Executive Director has been Dr Hubertus Knabe. He oversees the Foundation's day-to-day business, and his remit is determined by the Board of Trustees' decisions and directives. Show more

Members of the Board of Trustees

Klaus Lederer

Klaus Lederer
Senator for Culture and Europe Berlin

Gerlach Martina web5

Martina Gerlach
Undersecretary in the Senate Department for Justice Berlin

Portraet Stellvertreter

Maria Bering
Leader of the group K4 "History and Memory" at the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media

Dieter Dombrowski

Dieter Dombrowski, MdL
Vice President of the Brandenburg Parliament
© Landtag Brandenburg

Neumann Becker2

Birgit Neumann-Becker
Beauftragte des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur
© Privat

As at July 2017

Executive Director

Hubertus Knabe

Dr. Hubertus Knabe
Director of the Berlin-Hohenschönhausen Memorial
© Arthur Schmidt/Gvoon